Communication

Had a good chat with my best friend yesterday. She knows about everything and I had accompanied her to a wedding fair. She’s getting married next year and I think all the wedding talk made me a bit emotional. She thinks I should tell Tom how I feel and I understand why as how can he even try to fix things if he doesn’t know (or doesn’t want to admit) there’s a problem? She also suggested I look into how I would stand financially if I do decide to call it a day with my marriage. She’s right on both counts.

So how do I broach the subject of my unhappiness with Tom? The thing is, I don’t really know what to say. I can’t just blurt out that I don’t think I love him anymore. How can anyone even try to fix that? You can’t make someone love you if they don’t. How do I tell him I’m not happy then try to explain why? Difficult when I don’t really want to bring the subject of Rob into conversation. I think that has just opened my eyes and made me admit to what I’ve know for a while. Is his drinking part of the problem or am I actually using that as an excuse? We don’t really have much in common and while they say opposites attract, what happens when that attraction fades? We are total opposites – he’s very impatient with a short temper. I’m far more easy going and generally very patient. We don’t talk much about anything and when we do, he doesn’t often remember what I’ve said or tells me I’m giving him too much detail, so I’ve stopped bothering.

I know I’ve got to say something, I can’t carry on like this.

Leave a Reply

