Valentine blues

When I collected James from my parents after work, my Dad showed me the Valentine meal he was preparing for my Mum. He asked if Tom was cooking my dinner and seemed surprised that he wasn’t even though I’m sure he asks me this every year! My Dad can be very short tempered and grumpy, mainly due to his arthritis, but he does make an effort and cooks for my mum probably around once a month or so. It just made me feel sad that they’ve been married over 40 years and my dad still makes an effort, but I so often feel taken for granted. Tom and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day. We do get cards (well I do and he often forgets) but have never done gifts. I don’t particularly want extravagant gifts as I do feel it’s a commercial gimmick, but the occasional surprise would be nice.

Leave a Reply

