Easter Sunday

Thought today was going to be a bit of a disaster, but it turned out not so bad. Tom had agreed to come to my parents for a family dinner and an Easter Egg hunt for the kids. This afternoon though he asked if I was still feeling the same. When I said I was, he said he hadn’t wanted to hear that and that he’d wasted the last however many years loving me when I didn’t love him back. He then phoned my mum and informed her that he wouldn’t be joining us because her daughter hasn’t loved him for 10 years! They were chatting for a while. I heard some of the conversation, including my mum saying that she never thought we were compatible; that Tom wasn’t marriage material and he should have stayed a bachelor! He later asked me if I wanted him to go with me or not. I told him that I felt he had asked if there had been a change in my feelings deliberately to give him a reason not to go as he doesn’t like going there anyway. He asked if it would help if he came after all and I replied that it couldn’t do any harm.

I think my parents were surprised that he accompanied myself and James, and we actually had a good evening. He did go and speak to my parents during the visit. I don’t know what was said. My mum didn’t ask me anything. My dad just asked if I was ok. I hadn’t really said much at all to them before today, (and I didn’t talk to them today either) though I had told my mum that we had had words and that I’m booked on a “Mums and sons” only holiday with my friend. I’ve wanted to talk to my mum about it but as I’ve said before, I don’t find it easy to talk to her about stuff and I know she will say “I told you so”.

I do actually feel a bit more positive tonight, so for now it’s “keep trying”.

2 thoughts on “Easter Sunday

Leave a Reply

